Chris Tarrant: Extreme Railway Journeys

Useful information for viewers

/ 15 March 2016

The Producers would like to thank everyone who made this series possible.

If you would like to experience some of the highlights of Chris’s railway adventures featured in the series here is some further information about where we stayed and how we did it…

EPISODE ONE: The Road to Mandalay

• Millenium Hilton Bangkok… For great views over Bangkok: http://www3.hilton.com/en/hotels/thailand/millennium-hilton-bangkok-hotel-BKKHITW/index.html
• Hellfire Pass Museum… http://hellfire-pass.commemoration.gov.au/remembering-the-railway/hellfire-pass-memorial-museum.php
• Myanmar by Train… http://khiri.com/

EPISODE TWO: Crossing the Andes

• Bolivian National Railways is the best port of call for organising your train journeys
http://www.fca.com.bo/
• Salt Hotel… Feeling salty? Here’s the link to the incredible Hotel Luna Salada in Bolivia made entirely from salt!
http://www.lunasaladahotel.com.bo/
• Train Graveyard, Uyuni… http://www.atlasobscura.com/places/great-train-graveyard
• Altitude Sickness Advice… https://www.bolivianlife.com/dealing-with-altitude-sickness-in-bolivia/
• Local Airline… There are areas in the Andes that are not covered by tracks so it’s best to fly or travel by 4×4. We found the staff at the domestic airline Amaszonas extremely kind and helpful. http://www.amaszonas.com/
• Local Travel agent… in Bolivia http://www.boliviamia.net/

EPISODE THREE: One Way Ticket to Siberia

• Russian Railways… www.rzd.ru or www.russianrailways.com
• Nenets… to visit the Nenets we recommend http://www.yamalpeninsulatravel.com/ and http://yamaltravel.com/Tours/Nenet-migration-tour/
• World’s Most Northerly Railway Station… for tourist trips contact www.nordrail.com/tour_travel_yamal_arctic_railway.html
• Arctic Kit & Expedition Advice… http://www.ice-warrior.com/business/expedition-outfitters/expedition-hire-equipment/
• Visa application for Russia… www.gov.uk/foreign-travel-advice/russia/entry-requirements

EPISODE FOUR: Slow Train to Guantanamo Bay

• General travel information… http://www.travel2cuba.co.uk
• Train Timetables and advice … http://www.cuba-junky.com/cuba/train-schedules.htm or http://www.seat61.com/Cuba.htm#.Vfsu5nBXeK0
• Hershey Electric Railway… http://bestcubaguide.com/how-to-take-the-electric-hershey-train-in-havana-cuba/
• Hotel Nacional de Cuba… http://www.hotelnacionaldecuba.com/en/home.asp
• Stay with a Local at a Casas Particulares… www.Cuba-Junky.com
• Santa Clara – Hotel La Granita… http://www.cubahotelreservation.com/hotel.asp?hotel_code=SCTCUBVGranjita
• Che Guevara Mausoleum, Santa Clara… http://www.lonelyplanet.com/cuba/central-cuba/santa-clara/sights/landmarks-monuments/monumento-ernesto-che-guevara
• “Armoured Train Museum” (Spanish: Tren Blindado), Santa Clara station… https://www.tripadvisor.co.nz/Attraction_Review-g671534-d2718318-Reviews-Monumento_a_la_Toma_del_Tren_Blindado-Santa_Clara_Villa_Clara_Province_Cuba.html

 

EPISODE FIVE: The Great Japanese Train Ride

• Visitor information from JNTO (Japan National Tourism Organisation)… http://www.seejapan.co.uk/jnto_consumer/index
• Japan Rail Pass (must buy before you leave your home country)… www.japantravel.co.uk/jrp.htmm and www.japanrailpass.net
• Train Timetables and route searches… www.hyperdia.com and www.internationalrail.com/rail-passes
• Customs, Manners & Etiquette… https://www.japan-rail-pass.com/japan-by-rail/travel-tips/etiquette
• Hiroshima WWII Trams… http://www.hiroden.co.jp/en/s-howtoride.html
• Tama Cat train… http://www.wakayama-dentetsu.co.jp/images/wakayama_eng.pdf
• Oigawa Steam Railway… http://www.oigawa-railway.co.jp/pdf/oigawa_rail_eng.pdf or http://www.jrtr.net/jrtr31/pdf/f30_shi.pdf
• Trainspotter Hotel… Chris stayed at the Hotel Mets Tabata in Tokyo. http://www.jrhotelgroup.com/eng/hotel/eng121.htm
• Akita Nairiku Line… http://www.tokyoweekender.com/2014/01/the-akita-nairiku-line-winter-wonderland-by-rail/
• Gono Line… http://www.jreast.co.jp/e/routemaps/resortshirakami.html
• Railway Technical Research Institute (RTRI) Tours… http://www.rtri.or.jp/eng/

EPISODE SIX: The Railway that Created Canada

• Ontario Budd Car to White River… http://www.viarail.ca/en/explore-our-destinations/trains/ontario-and-quebec/sudbury-white-river
• Continental Motel, White River (Winnie the Pooh town)… http://www.continentalmotel.ca and http://www.whiteriver.ca
• The Canadian… www.viarail.ca
• Banff Springs Hotel… http://www.fairmont.com/banff-springs/accommodations/
• Sulphur Mountain by Gondola… http://www.banffadventures.com/things-to-do/summer/banff-gondola-rides.aspx
• The Rocky Mountaineer… http://www.rockymountaineer.com
• Fraser River Rafting… http://www.fraserraft.com
• Vancouver Floatplane Tour… www.harbourair.com
• For help planning your trip, speak to the friendly folks at:
Canada Tourism www.canadatourism.com
Travel Manitoba www.travelmanitoba.com/
Travel Alberta www.travelalberta.com/
Tourism British Columbia www.hellobc.com/
Tourism Vancouver www.tourismvancouver.com